Magic Tree House Series

in Essential Reads

Author: Mary Pope Osborne
Review by Essentialmom (for ages 6+)
This is the perfect first experience with chapter books for kids — either read them out-loud to younger kids or, for children who are ready for more of a challenge, they can be read alone.  There are TONS in the series, and each covers a very different story line (and you can read them out of order).  The main characters are siblings, Jack and Annie, who discover a magic tree house filled with books — and each book allows them to travel to a different time, leading to many historically based adventures, so a little something new in every book.
Rating 4 out of 5